Quiet Spring weekends

Our winters are over before they really begin. Once again we’re at the start of a long, hot summer, which will be filled with beach and bush walks, swimming and a whole bunch of smiles.

Our little Arlo is not travelling well in the car at the moment (a one hour trip is taking three hours) so we’re staying close to home. It’s refreshing to intentionally leave our weekends free to potter around home and walk by the bay. It’s forced family time that is so soul-filling. We walk and talk. We make pancakes and collages. We dance to Taylor Swift and Play School. We potty train and plant flowers. Our garden has never looked better and our hearts have never been bigger.

I always wanted a family but never imagined I’d love the quiet life so much. When my workmates ask how my weekend was, I tell them “quiet, just hung with the family.” But there’s no ‘just’ about our weekends. It’s simply tough to put into words all the little perfect and vibrant moments that made up our quiet weekend.

As I sit here, at the dawn of another beautiful Spring weekend, I can’t wait to see how it unfolds. I can’t wait to see Arlo’s bobble-head slowly strengthen. I can’t wait to hear Quin’s toddlered versions of ‘magnificent’ and ‘ridiculous’.  I can’t wait to see my wife at her happiest – post-coffee and surrounded by her family. I just can’t wait to be part of the family we have created for two whole days. They make me feel like the luckiest person in the world.

IMG_0881.JPG

IMG_0893.JPG

IMG_0890.JPG

IMG_0895.JPG

IMG_0916.JPG

IMG_0909.JPG

IMG_0490.JPG

IMG_0495.JPG

IMG_0484.JPG

IMG_0498.JPG

IMG_0841.JPG

IMG_0931.JPG

IMG_0933.JPG

IMG_0929.JPG

IMG_0829.JPG

IMG_0780.JPG

One thought on “Quiet Spring weekends

Leave a Reply

