Meant for each other

After Quin was born and they were still in the hospital, Shan’s boss came to visit. A mother of two girls herself, she looked at us and then at Quin and said, “some women are meant to be mothers to girls.”

This phrase struck both of us and over the last couple of weeks I have really been thinking about what it means to raise a daughter. What it means to be a woman who was meant to be a mother to a daughter.

As much as I had an inkling the whole time we were going to have a girl, I would have been just as elated to have a boy. But now she is here I just feel so honoured to have Quin, so blessed to have the opportunity to be a mother to this little girl.

I’m am so looking forward to teaching her about girl power and women’s lib and to singing Independent Woman with her at the top of our lungs.

I can’t wait to teach her to value herself, her body and her own opinions and to help her build the confidence to take on the world.

I can’t wait to see if she’s a princess or a tomboy or shy or boisterous. If she likes sport or reading or both.

I just know she was given to us because we were the right women to mother this little girl.

2 thoughts on “Meant for each other

  1. I’ve just found your blog and I’ve read a couple of posts and love it. My girl and I have been trying for a baby for ages now and just can’t wait to have our own to love and raise. Good on you gals

    Like

  2. thanks for stopping in! I will have to head over and check out your blog. and I’m sorry it is taking you a little while to conceive. keep at it – babies deserve to come to parents who truly want them so badly 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

